Elder Kyle M. Allen in Hong Kong

Read all about Elder Allen's adventures as a full time missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints in Hong Kong

Still in Cheung Sha Wan!

Leave a comment

October 14, 2013

I can’t believe it.  This week was transfers.  Now I don’t know about other missions, but in the China Hong Kong mission, we usually stick around in an area for about 2 companions or 6 months.  Well the 6-month mark passed already and I was on my third companion in the area!  It was crazy enough that I had three companions in one area.  It really was!  But I still had no clue what would happen.  Well what happened is that I’M STILL IN CHEUNG SHA WAN!!  AND I have a different companion!  I’m with an Elder Arrington who started his mission 6 weeks after me.  I can’t believe what happened!  Elder Liu got called to go to Macau so I’m sill here as a zone leader.  It’s awesome.  I still can learn so much here.  Also here is some big news!  I got my release date!!!!!  Well sort of.  I can choose.  I don’t know what to do actually.  I think I need to think about it a little this week.  Since transfers are a little weird now being 9 weeks, my two years ends in the middle of a transfer.  So President Hawks is letting me choose between May 23rd (two years to the day that he went into the mission field) or June 20th (the end of the transfer) which would make me a 25-month missionary.  Like I said I don’t know what to do!  But it’s getting closer and closer!  So I don’t know… that’s that….

Sorry if this letter is short.  Let me tell you the story of what happened.  Today is some weird Chinese holiday, which is reason to celebrate of course!  So today the ward went on a ward barbecue Chinese style!  Exactly the same as the Tai Po ward activity actually.  We went and were expecting to be back home around 3 to 3:30.  Well, when we got back into the buses to go home, there were so many cars on the small highway road that the bus couldn’t maneuver around them!  After being stuck for a really long time they called the police to come and help us!  It was pretty funny because everyone was taking pictures of us.  We were blocking the road for a very, very long time!  The police even closed the road so no cars could enter the passage!  Ha-ha!  Our bus driver had some serious skill and guts to do some of the things that he did, avoiding all the parked cars!  And then when we got through it I realized that we had to do it again!  We had traveled back to the campsite and had to flip around since where we got off the bus and got back on the bus were in different places.  We got home very late today!  But it was all worth it!  There were about 15 non-members there!

Conference was great!  I just always miss English meetings!  They are so awesome! This one had some really good talks!  I especially liked Elder Oaks’ talk.  (Elder Oak’s talk from the last General Conference was entitled “No Other Gods.”  In it he spoke about some of the priorities we may place ahead of God in our lives and concluded his talk by saying “We must never dilute our first priority – to have no other gods and to serve no other priorities ahead of God the Father and His Son, our Savior, Jesus Christ.”)  That seems to be the one lingering in my mind the most.  Anyways, enough about that.  Thanks for the heads up on the exclamation points (Elder Gifford Nielsen’s talk) and the ldsconffly! (See Kyle’s letter from last week!)  Ha-ha!

The area is doing great and we can’t wait for the time where we can go out finding this week and find the elect of our Heavenly Father.  However, those that we already have are doing better than before, John especially.  He has a baptismal date for the end of the month, keeps all the commandments, but before this week he was never set on Christ being before all other things. This week we had a member who is coming back into activity himself help us teach that principle.  The spirit was strong and we were able to answer a lot of the small questions/concerns he had.  With John we weren’t being bold enough but after telling him things as they really are, and then promising specific blessings, he understood and is getting very close to accepting in very firmly. I’m very excited for him.  He just needs to read every night and see where it takes him.  He came to our ward barbecue activity today and had a great time with the members.

Wing came to conference in a white shirt!  He said it was the first time ever that he has worn a white, button up shirt.  It was great to see him there and hear President Monson speak.  He is reading the Book of Mormon everyday and his prayers are getting better and better, which is a testament that he is praying outside of our meetings.  We don’t get to see Wing a lot but since he does things on his own outside of our meetings he is really progressing well.  He is in the middle of I Nephi right now, which is great.  I love explaining the scriptures to him, since he has a hard time understanding anything in it.  I feel like every time we do that I learn more than him and we always feel the Spirit.  Whenever we read the scriptures and talk about them, our meetings are different.

That is a small report, but time permits me to write no more.  At the ward barbecue today there must have been 15-20 non-members there as well as most of the recent converts!  It was a great turnout and our small little band of Cheung Sha Wan ward members and to have two chartered buses take us to and from the place we went was fantastic!  It was a great event talking with everyone.  I got to meet a lot of the members families, and even though their interest level was not too high right now, it will be later and its because the members are catching the Spirit of missionary work!  It’s awesome!  Thank you so much for all you do for us missionaries everyone!  I know I mentioned this before but it’s really awesome!  Everyone in the ward is surprised I’m still here and I’m excited!  It sounds like a good back-on-track win for the CTG’s!  (ASU beat Colorado that week 54-13)  This week is going to be a very big game!  I can’t wait to hear about it!  I remember when the last time Washington came to the stadium.  It was when what’s his face threw the last second Hail Mary pass to Aaron Pflugrad in the end zone for the win!  So awesome!  Wasn’t that the last time?  If it isn’t…well…it’s a missionary mind.  We only remember the big and important events.  I love you all have a great week

Love,

Elder Allen

Leave a Reply

