Elder Kyle M. Allen in Hong Kong

Read all about Elder Allen's adventures as a full time missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints in Hong Kong

My Aching Back

Leave a comment

August 26, 2013

Well this week was such an excellent week for the Cheung Sha Wan Ward.  Just seriously, miracle after miracle.  However last night we finished doing numbers really late (ask a returned missionary they’ll know what it means) and so both me and Elder Liu had to take a shower and get to bed in a matter of like 10 minutes.  Well I was the second one to shower and it was like 10:56 and I was getting out of the shower (had a towel on of course) and when I stepped out I just hit the floor like there was no floor.  If that doesn’t make sense I slipped and my kidney/ hipbone took the brunt of it by hitting the bottom of the shower door – you know like on sliding doors the metal part that keeps the door in place?   Ya…. Well I couldn’t sleep last night because I just couldn’t find a good position but it seems to be getting a little better…. slowly…. like it was a hard fall everybody!  And I can’t walk without it hurting but who cares…. that’s not going to stop me…. I still made it to bed on time!   Ha-ha…. that was pretty funny… but I’m fine!   Just very sore today! It’s not as bad as my ankle (Kyle twisted his ankle playing basketball earlier in his mission.)  I don’t think… no, not as bad!  Okay well…. there must be opposition in all things and I think that was like the only thing that happened this week that was bad!  If that’s all the opposition is the I will funyihng it (welcome it!) I took a picture and I’ll send it next week.  The bruise today isn’t as bad…but as of right now I can’t run or jump.  Am I becoming an old man this fast?

 So we are just working our tails off these past few weeks.  We have had so little of time to do anything like finding but I think that’s a good thing right?  We are just teaching lesson after lesson.  It’s just such a blessing what’s been happening these past few weeks.  On Friday we had a half of an hour to go finding and for the first (and maybe only time) I felt really rusty doing it!  Both Elder Liu and I just didn’t know what to say.  But that’s okay.  Maybe things will settle down this week.  I can’t believe college football is already starting!  That is amazing! 

 No new news on the things I’ve eaten list.  I couldn’t have imagined that the list would be as big as it is.  But you never know what Hong Kong has up its sleeve.  No major typhoon.  No major rainstorm.  Pretty quiet on those fronts.  But on a side note, Settlers of Catan (a board game) is a missionary favorite over here.  I’m starting to get really good at it so you all better watch out.  Anyway… enough of that talk.  It sounds like everyone is doing really well back home which makes for one motivated happy missionary.  Sad to see Phyl come home but I’m sure he’ll do many great things at home.  (Kyle’s good friend Phyllip Curtis had to come home from his mission to Colombia and Los Angeles early because of his diagnosis with a chronic illness.)  Also I listened to a top 50 BYU talk by Jeffery R. Holland about loyalty.  Well…the whole reason why he talked about it was because in 1985 the BYU fans booed their quarterback and the great Beano Cook called it “the most disgraceful event of the college football season.”  He talked for a whole half of an hour! Basically if you boo your own team you have no loyalty at all to anything.  At least that’s the gist of it all.   Good words from him as the football season starts. He says, “Even the Pharisees didn’t boo other Pharisees.”

 As for my companion and I, we are doing excellent.  We are very busy and we love what we are doing.  I love this area and the people we are working with and getting them to become converted to the gospel and the Atonement.  We are seeing miracles and everyday we are stopping doing the little things that could be holding us back so bit by bit we are seeing all the miracles that come from being more and more obedient. We still have some things to work on but I really find a joy of knowing that something is wrong, fixing it, and seeing the blessings that come from that process.  I love working hard and staying busy.  (And I love hearing him say things like this!)

 This weekend seemed like one giant miracle to me.  It was just small thing after small thing that kept on leading to being happier and happier.  First it started with a less active named Alex.  Another Elder ran into him on the MTR one day a couple of weeks ago.  Well we haven’t been the best at calling him and when we did call him he didn’t answer.  But this time, he was very willing to talk to us and sounded very excited to meet us.  After that, we ran into him at an MTR station while we were going to another appointment!  He actually talked to us first because I had no idea what he looked like.  We had a good conversation with him, and then we had to say goodbye but we visited him the next day and he came to church for the first time in years yesterday.  When he bumped into us he even asked, “Do you think that God planned this and wants us to meet again?”  Wow that’s what I call a really cool story.  It’s nothing that we did either – its just following the spirit and being obedient.

We had a very rewarding day at church yesterday.  Erica Lee is a member in our ward and she brought her family friends to the primary activity and then to church.  For the first time in my whole mission we had a full family at church.  We taught them and the mom seems interested.  The dad didn’t sit in on the lesson, but the 2 sons Ben and A-Bo loved Young Men’s and Primary.  They are already friends with some of the people in the ward and played basketball with them today.  They seem pretty good and although it’s just a start, I’m excited to see what these next couple of weeks has in store for that family.  It’s weird though, both the parents really enjoyed church and even asked to read some of the scriptures in the classes.  They sang the hymns like normal but then we just don’t know why they weren’t as receptive to sitting down with us as we thought they would be.  But right now everything is fine and they rescheduled. They are friends with Erica because Erica’s husband and the father (A-Leung) are co-workers.  Erica’s husband, Rex, is less-active because of his work schedule so we have the faith that this will go well and help everyone involved.

 A-Hung is doing great.  His phone is constantly off but he shows up to all the appointments.  There is still a couple of things to teach him this week but he has a baptismal interview scheduled for Saturday.  We are very excited.  He has met a lot of members recently and every day for about 3 or 4 weeks now has made significant progress in the Book of Mormon.  Right now he is in the middle of Second Nephi.  A-Hung brings me a lot of joy and shows me an example of what being dependable and trustworthy means. When he says he’ll stop drinking tea, he’ll stop drinking tea. When he says he’ll read every night, I have the faith that he’ll read every night.

 Steven Lau is also in the middle of second Nephi and doing well.  The only problem is he wanted to check out other wards in Hong Kong.  He studied Mandarin as his major and so went to the Mandarin Branch yesterday.  We had no idea and I was shocked to get his phone call saying that he made his way to the Wan Chai church and he was about to go into the meeting.  I thought it might have been a problem because I was afraid he would go there instead of his home branch, but after church he called me and said that he didn’t feel as comfortable there as he did in Kowloon Tong and he was going to Kowloon Tong from now on.  He then apologized which shocked me again, and I reassured him that he didn’t have to do that.  I like Steven a lot.  He is a man of integrity.

 That’s is all the main stories for the week.  Time is cut a little short here.  I am the happiest I’ve ever been. I’m experiencing the greatest blessings right now…. all because of others.  Keeping commitments, coming to church, having an open heart.  It’s just an awesome time.  Broken back and all!  I love you thanks for all your support!  Have a good week! Don’t worry about me here!  Know that I have a smile on!  (Kyle doesn’t know this but I had been especially concerned about his happiness this particular week and having him say this at the end of his letter was an answer to my prayers.)

 Elder Allen

 

Leave a Reply

