Elder Kyle M. Allen in Hong Kong

Read all about Elder Allen's adventures as a full time missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints in Hong Kong

It’s National Day!

Leave a comment

Well, like the letter says Happy National Day to everyone!!  The actual holiday was Monday (October 1) and it celebrates the founding of the People’s Republic of China! Can you think of a better reason for a celebration? I think not. It was a big celebration Sunday with Moon Autumn Festival and then Monday with National Day. EVERYONE was out on the street with their candles and their glow sticks and their blankets doing well… nothing!  Ha-ha but that’s what they do for fun here! Study, play some futbol (soccer) and talk with each other! It was really fun though I must say! And on Monday our ward had a big party where they order 10 huge bowls of assorted meats and you cook them right at your table. I’m going to be honest here…there was definitely some sketchy beyond sketchy stuff in that bowl. I had no idea what 75 percent of the stuff was that I ate but I ate it…well sort of… you can always blame the chopsticks if you don’t feel like eating something. All you have to do is “accidently” drop it and blame it on the fact that you’re a white person they all laugh and then you go on having just a grand old time!  They supposedly celebrate National Day with a huge fireworks display on the harbor!  Too bad I’m not in that area otherwise that would be the coolest thing ever! The missionaries say that Chinese fireworks just blow the figurative pants off of American fireworks.  Well there’s always next year.  As for the mooncakes – they are plentiful in our in apartment. (For a description of and recipe for mooncakes see the post “Happy Mid Autumn Days” on this blog.)  Come and get them. I’ll pay you for taking some!! The worst is when someone gives you one and then they open it for you and then want to watch you eat it! That has happened to me a few times. Can anybody say awkward?  Ha-ha speaking of which….

We went to an investigator’s house to eat and share a message this week which is all cool you know because that happens like once a week so its normal but here’s the catch – she only spoke Mandarin! (Kyle was assigned to speak Cantonese and although he hopes to learn as much Mandarin as possible, he hasn’t had much of a chance to do that yet.)  So… there were four of us missionaries in her house and we had one native speaker speaking fluent Chinese and Elder Broderick (Kyle’s companion) can speak it too. I don’t know how but he is just a Chinese master!!! Cantonese. Mandarin. It’s crazy how much he knows already…but anyway first thing she brings the food out and there is SO much food you have no idea.  At Chinese dinners there is just a big bowl of rice and then like 7 different things to choose from and you just add that them to your rice.  But she had like 11 different things to choose from and oh, my gosh.  We had to just keep eating… and eating… and eating.  I even ate duck. It wasn’t actually as bad as it could have been!!! Ha-ha!  Since I didn’t know any Mandarin the two missionaries that did just kept telling her “He wants more, he wants more” so she kept giving me more and more.  They were laughing and the investigator had no idea what was going on so I just had to keep eating cause she just kept putting food in the bowl! I think I counted 6 bowls of rice. I’ll be happy to never do that again.  (One of Kyle’s complaints since he has been in Hong Kong is that he never gets enough to eat.  Sounds like he was full this time!)

Well the work is going great! Sorry this email is short! It’s really late today and we have to get going! We ate at a buffet today (that’s a big thing to do on P-Day) for one of the AP’s birthdays so it was fun! I finished the Book of Mormon again and the Student Manual that goes along with it! Very interesting stuff!  I used to think it was just some stupid, not really useful book but I was definitely wrong! I’m almost finished with reading the D&C too so the reading just keeps on going! I don’t know why but for some reason there were a lot of anti-Mormon people that came up to us this week while we were out looking for investigators.  Sometimes that’s the best because they come up and talk to you first!  Then they don’t even know anything about the church so you have the chance to tell them about it and it’s really cool! It actually worked a couple of times this week in getting phone numbers believe it or not!!!! I just couldn’t believe it!  The Lord works in mysterious ways but I welcome every single way that gets us talking to people. Miracles happen everyday! They are just different ones from the Colombian ones!! That’s crazy about Phyl!!!!  My jaw dropped when he said they found 62 new investigators last week?!!! That’s like 3 transfers here!  Keep doing work over there!  And Cooper is already 6 months out?  Crazy!  I hit my 2 months in HK on Sunday!! And GO DEVILS!!!! They just need to keep doing work! I was definitely nervous about this one!  (The Sun Devils beat the California Bears in California this week 27-17.)

Have a good week everyone! Heavenly Father blesses each and every one of us everyday! We just have to recognize those blessings!  Have fun at the wedding! I never thought I’d see the day when Jenna gets married and it turns out I won’t! Ha-ha! It’s so crazy that she is getting married.  I’m so happy to have another brother-in-law! Some exciting things are happening in Arizona! I hope you all get my hand letters sooner rather later!!! I love you all!!!

Kyle

Leave a Reply

