Elder Kyle M. Allen in Hong Kong

Read all about Elder Allen's adventures as a full time missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Saints in Hong Kong

Monday – Check!

Leave a comment

In this week’s email Kyle mentions that he has been out for 100 days now and that if his mission were a week he would be finished with Monday.  I’m not sure I like that analogy but I am sure I like his upbeat attitude and his desire to do whatever it takes to be a good missionary.  Here is his letter

Hey everyone it’s the man that’s 7,555 miles away and 8,000 times as sad as anyone else who can’t be at the ASU game on Saturday!! It really doesn’t set well with me at all!  I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself until December!! Maybe preach the gospel? … But oh well, I’ll just have to forget about it…until Thursdays roll around! The tailgate party sounds like it’s getting bigger and bigger!  (Our family has a tradition throwing a tailgate party before every home game.  Sometimes we convince enough people to come that the attendance is pretty good!) It’s probably going to be as big as…well how many people are going to be at the game?!!?!  Ha-ha! No I think it will be an okay turnout!!! My prediction Devils 41…Lumberjacks 13…. I think the generalissimo will keep this a close one….relatively… but I worked it out in my head. While the game is going on I’ll be at church so I guess that’s the best place to be at a time like that!! Also dad is doing something in the press box? That’s cool what is he doing? (Mark worked as the press box announcer for the NAU game.)

Sorry if I can’t respond to your emails everybody and if I do they are going to be short. I’m sorry about that! I wish I could at least print them off or something but we write from like this little corner store that’s really a grocery store so the chances of me being able to write back are shot.  I’ll try to keep this one short so I can try to write back to the individual emails but I’m really sorry! And not much happened this week so I think I’ll have some time! Today we got to go to the temple for the first time since being here! Oh and by the way today is my 100th day as a missionary! If my mission were a week I’d be done with Monday!  I guess going to the temple is what I got to do to celebrate! No better place right? But just thinking about where I was to where I am now is crazy! And just thinking about where I’ll be in the next 100 days is really incredible!

I’m reading so many different things right now and I like them all! Of course the Book of Mormon is the biggest one…let’s face it I wasn’t the most ehhh…effective Book of Mormon reader before I left but now it really does just set you up for the day.  A lot of people are just too lazy to read it and they just don’t know how a daily schedule will change your life! You’ll just have that energy to go and do normal things throughout the day and the strength to do things like resist anti-Mormon stuff. (A guy just gave me some of that stuff for the first time this week.  It was so sad since he was going to get baptized in three Sundays.)  Just make reading the Book of Mormon who you are and you won’t go wrong. And there’s the whole thing about being able to speak a language (well sort of) that I never would have dreamed of speaking in my life (probably because until January I didn’t know it existed). Being a white guy here has its advantages. People come up to me everyday because I’m just so weird and when they find out I speak their own language they are amazed and then I tell them why! It’s a great conversation starter!

Anyway besides that fact nothing much is happening that’s new in the Po Lam/TKO area. We have a baptism scheduled in two Sundays and he is bringing his brother to lessons now so we’ll see how that goes! Faith/Obedience really is the biggest thing around these parts and let me tell you it’s hard! It’s hard having the faith to know that these people I’m teaching will keep their commitments – but I’m working on it! That really is the biggest shock to me of being in “the real world.”  The culture is weird the food is different but the biggest thing about my life that I have to change is just getting the faith for these people. Don’t get me wrong I have faith but its just crazy how much you have to have!

Anyway that’s it for the week! Oh did I ever tell you I have a double name tag??? So I don’t just have a Chinese writing name tag but I have English writing on one side in seriously bubbly letters and it says Elder Allen on it and then on the other side it is all Chinese!  It’s so cool!!!! We went to Wan Chai again at night for a stake conference! This city’s skyline at night is just so amazing! I can’t believe I have 2 years here! It’s so crazy all the lighting and stuff! And how quiet the Wan Chai chapel is! Look that up on Google Earth and see what buildings are around it and you’ll see what I’m talking about! And coming home I saw a 4 or 5 story Forever 21. (Kyle’s sisters’ favorite store.) It was huge! I thought I’d just tell you all what you’re missing out on!

I love you all so much! The Lord does guide us if we want his help! I’m so happy to be here even if it means I sin by missing the Devils’ games!!! Cheer hard for me!!

Kyle

Leave a Reply

